Saturday, November 25, 2006

Milwaukee 7 And The Amendment, State Summary

In the Journal Sentinel is an article about the Milwaukee 7. It is a coalition of counties in southeastern Wisconsin, created to discuss economic strategies for the region. The counties are: Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Walworth, Washington, and Waukesha.

Let's take a quick look at how southeastern Wisconsin voted on the amendment that defines marriage and bans civil unions:

RankVoteCountyNo VotesYes Votes
8YMilwaukee141,476 (45.05%)172,568 (54.95%)
15YKenosha19,558 (40.80%)28,373 (59.20%)
22YWalworth12,650 (38.16%)20,499 (61.84%)
33YOzaukee14,915 (36.53%)25,914 (63.47%)
35YRacine24,875 (36.19%)43,868 (63.81%)
52YWaukesha55,079 (31.75%)118,392 (68.25%)
70YWashington13,800 (26.26%)38,742 (73.74%)

There has been much debate about the amendment's impact. Will its passage affect southeastern Wisconsin economically? We'll just have to wait and see on that one..

Side notes:
  • Dane tops the vote no list (hmm.. no surprise, with over a 33% difference).
  • La Crosse and Dane were the only two counties to vote no.
  • In La Crosse, the difference between yes and no was 16 votes.
  • Florence ends the list with 1,515 yes and 481 no votes.

No comments:

Tornado Rainbow Triangle